Skip to main content

Eight principles to address the diversity deficit in charity leadership

To create stronger, more resilient charities we are asking charity leaders, and leaders from wider civil society organisations that want to tackle racism in the sector, to sign up to eight leadership principles that address equity, diversity and inclusion.

These principles are part of the Racial Diversity in the Charity Sector report, done in collaboration with the Institute of Fundraising. 

As a leader I will:

  1. Acknowledge that there is a problem with racial diversity in the charity sector and commit to working to change that.
  2. Recognise the important role leaders have in creating change by modelling positive behaviour and taking action.
  3. Learn about racial bias and how it impacts leadership decisions.
  4. Commit to setting permanent and minimum targets for diversity that reflects the participants, donors, beneficiaries and the population of the area that my charity operates in.
  5. Commit to action and invest resources, where necessary, in order to improve racial diversity in my charity.
  6. View staff as the sum of many parts rather than a single entity and recruit to build a diverse group of talented people collectively working towards a shared vision.
  7. Recruit for potential, not perfection.
  8. Value lived experience, the ability to draw from one’s lived experience and to bring insights to an organisation that can develop its work.

Who has made the commitments?

Please click on the names to read more about the work each leader is doing regarding the principles.

  1. Vicky Browning, CEO, ACEVO
  2. Thomas Lawson, CEO, Turn2Us
  3. Jonathan Freeman, CEO, CareTech Foundation
  4. Beth Upton, CEO, Money Tree Fundraising
  5. Michael Adamson, chief executive, British Red Cross
  6. Heather Osborne, chief executive, Age UK Shropshire, Telford and Wrekin
  7. Girish Menon, CEO, ActionAid UK
  8. Howard Sinclair, chief executive, St. Mungo’s
  9. Helena Holt, chief executive, Devon Air Ambulance
  10. Alison Lowe, chief executive, Touchstone
  11. Patricia Armstrong OBE, chief executive, ACOSVO
  12. Sara Llewellin, chief executive, Barrow Cadbury Trust
  13. Menai Owen-Jones, CEO, The Pituitary Foundation
  14. Teri Stephenson, CEO, Age UK Lancashire
  15. Paul Parker, recording clerk, Quakers
  16. Ruth Potter, charity manager, OCAY
  17. Matt Stringer, CEO, RNIB
  18. Penny Wilson, chief executive, Gettting on Board
  19. Annie Warburton, chief executive, Cockpit Arts
  20. Jaine Stannard, chief executive, School-Home Support
  21. John Schless, chief executive, Greenwich Students’ Union
  22. Jo Gough, chief executive, RISE UK
  23. Ben Kernighan, CEO, Leap Confronting Conflict
  24. Ruth Kettle, CEO, Community Links
  25. Catherine McLeod MBE, CEO, Dingley’s Promise
  26. Sherrylyn Peck, chief executive, Safer London
  27. Tom Clarke-Forrest, founder & chief executive, Sport 4 Life UK
  28. Peter Lewis, CEO, Chartered Institute of Fundraising
  29. Laura Sercombe, CEO, Girls Friendly Society
  30. Ali Golds, CEO, The Juno Project
  31. Camilla Knox-Peebles, CEO, AMREF Health Africa UK
  32. Hilda Hayo, Chief Admiral Nurse, Dementia UK
  33. Clive Stone, CEO, Oakleaf Enterprise
  34. Donna John, executive director, Ignite
  35. Kamran Mallick, CEO, Disability Rights UK
  36. Louise Parkes, CEO, Great Ormond Street Hospital
  37. Gail Gibbons, CEO, Sheffield Futures
  38. Jane Ide, CEO, NAVCA
  39. Rebecca Gray, CEO, Maudsley Charity
  40. Dalton Leong, CEO, The Children’s Trust
  41. Patrick Wolter, CEO, Mary Frances Trust
  42. Josh Macalister, CEO, Frontline
  43. Andy Burman, CEO, British Dieticians Association
  44. Mark Rowland, CEO, Mental Health Foundation
  45. Michelle Mitchell, CEO, Cancer Research UK
  46. Sonya Chowdhury, CEO, Action for M.E.
  47. Eddie Blaze, CEO, Emmaus Oxford
  48. Tim Cooper, CEO, United Response
  49. Tom Wright, CEO, Guide Dogs for the blind association
  50. Darren Cormack, CEO, MAG International
  51. Melanie Armstrong, CEO, Action for Children
  52. Karen Ingala Smith, CEO, nia
  53. Matthew Reed, chief executive, Marie Curie
  54. James Blake, CEO YHA England and Wales
  55. Sonia Mangan, CEO Carer’s Support West Sussex
  56. Karl Wilding, CEO, NCVO
  57. Javed Khan, CEO Barnardos
  58. Liam O’Toole, CEO, Versus Arthritis
  59. Nik Peasgood, chief executive, Leeds Women’s Aid
  60. Sarah Hughes, CEO, Centre for Mental Health
  61. Simon Blake, CEO, Mental Health First Aid England
  62. Robin Osterley, CEO, Charity Retail Association
  63. Kate Lee, CEO, Alzheimer’s Society
  64. Jackie O’Sullivan, Executive Director. Royal Mencap Society
  65. Derek Walker, CEO, Wales Co-Operative Centre
  66. John Herriman, CEO, National Emergencies Trust
  67. Derri Burdon, CEO, Curious Minds
  68. Natasha Porter, CEO, Unlocked Graduates
  69. Jonathan Barnard, CEO, World Land Trust
  70. Ingrid Tennessee, CEO, Quo Vadis Trust
  71. Jenni Wiggle, CEO, Living Streets
  72. Philip Goodwin, CEO, VSO International
  73. James Campbell, CEO, Garden Organic Ryton
  74. Maryanne Matthews, CEO, EY Foundation
  75. Graeme Hodge, CEO, All We Can
  76. Jolanta Lasota, CEO, Ambitious about Autism
  77. Alan Markey, director of services, Covadvice
  78. Zoe Richards, CEO Learning Disability Wales
  79. Ginny Brown, CEO Imperial Society of Teachers of Dancing
  80. Rosie Ferguson, CEO House of St Barnabas
  81. Gemma Peters, CEO, Blood Cancer UK
  82. Dan Corry, CEO, NPC
  83. Emma Thomas, CEO, Young Minds
  84. Paul Snell, CEO, Walsingham Support
  85. Anne Fox, CEO, and Jess Mullen, head of policy and communications, Clinks
  86. Paul Roberts, CEO, Aspire Oxford
  87. John Poyton, CEO, Redthread
  88. Ricard Kramer, CEO, Sense and Sense International 
  89. Jamie Gaul, CEO, Action for Carers Surrey
  90. Sarah Hill, CEO, IDAS
  91. Mark Devlin, CEO, Young Epilepsy
  92. Katharine Sacks-Jones, CEO, Become
  93. Jules Hillier, CEO, Pause
  94. Emma Colyer, director, Body and Soul
  95. Carol Mack, CEO, ACF
  96. Catherine Roche, CEO, Place2Be
  97. Niki Mardas, executive director, Global Canopy
  98. Louise Macdonald, CEO, Young Scot
  99. Polly Neate, CEO, Shelter
  100. Darren Knight, CEO, George House Trust
  101. Angela McConville, CEO, National Childbirth Trust
  102. Mark Simms, CEO, P3
  103. Mark Lee, CEO, The Together Trust
  104. Lynda Thomas, CEO, Macmillan Cancer Support
  105. Amanda Batten, CEO, Contact
  106. Emma Gibson, CEO, London Travel Watch
  107. Elaine Tierney, chair, The Tin Music and Arts Coventry
  108. Kate Allen, CEO, Autism at Kingwood
  109. Michelle Hill, CEO, TLC
  110. Dr Greg Ussher, CEO, Metro
  111. Alastair Wilson, CEO. School for Social Entrepreneurs
  112. Julie Bentley, CEO, Samaritans
  113. Louise McGeehan, CEO, Just for Kids Law
  114. Gill Perkins, CEO, Bumblebee Conservation Trust
  115. Ndidi Okezie, CEO, UK Youth
  116. Peter Wanless, CEO, NSPCC
  117. Tom Doyle, CEO, Yorkshire MESMAC Group of Services
  118. Darren York, chief executive, TCV
  119. Jason Suckley, CEO, Make-A-Wish
  120. Julia Beart, CEO, Primary Care International
  121. Reyahn King, CEO, York Museums Trust
  122. Nick Moberly, CEO, MS Society
  123. Aaron Oxley, executive director, RESULTS UK
  124. Norman Goodwin, chief executive, Adoption Matters

To commit to these principles