ACEVO announces new Fellows

The charity leaders’ network ACEVO has named the five people chosen to receive the prestigious ACEVO Fellowship. Sponsored by The Leadership Trust Foundation, ACEVO Fellowships champion inspirational and emerging leaders from across the country.

Fellowships are awarded to those whose work has been identified by their peers as outstanding, and whose achievements deserve greater recognition. The awards were presented at ACEVO’s Annual General Meeting on Thursday 6 December.

Each Fellow receives a fully funded bursary place on the Leadership Trust’s flagship Leadership in Management Programme worth £4,200 + VAT; a personalised development plan; an ACEVO mentor; a free place at the ACEVO annual conference; a pack of ACEVO publications and a year’s free membership.

The five winners are:

  • Jolanta Lasota, chief executive, Ambitious about Autism
  • Kevin Kibble, chief executive, nurtureuk
  • Arti Sharma, deputy chief executive, City Year UK
  • Janet Thorne, chief executive, Reach Volunteering
  • Becky Aldridge, chief executive, Dorset Mental Health Forum

Vicky Browning, CEO of ACEVO, said: “I am thrilled to announce this year’s ACEVO fellows, awarded in recognition of their exceptional leadership. The fellowships are about supporting and nurturing some of the best talent in the sector and the five winners were chosen because of their commitment, drive, vision and hunger to learn more. I can’t wait to see what this group, who have already made such a big difference, will do next.”

Henrietta Baldock, chair of The Leadership Trust, said: “The Leadership Trust is delighted to sponsor the ACEVO Fellows once again in 2018 and we warmly congratulate the winners.  Through our support of the Fellowship, we acknowledge and celebrate outstanding leadership in society.  We believe that Leadership is using your personal power to win the hearts and minds of people to achieve a common purpose.  Attendance on the Leadership in Management Programme will aid the Fellows in furtherance of their remarkable work.” 

About the winners

Jolanta Lasota, chief executive, Ambitious about Autism

Jolanta’s leadership style is inclusive and is focused on maximising the organisation’s reach and impact by working in partnership with multiple stakeholders: young people with autism; families; carers, funders, local authorities; other third sector organisations, education providers. Her vision is quite simply ‘to make the ordinary possible for young people with autism’.

Kevin Kibble, chief executive, nurtureuk

Kevin is an inspirational and visionary leader; he has transformed the organisation into one that has a growing reputation in the area of children’s development. His leadership has resulted in a diverse and motivated workforce with a strong team ethos.

Arti Sharma, deputy chief executive, City Year UK

Arti stepped up to lead City Year UK during a turbulent period when the organisation did not have a CEO. Through her honesty and transparency she was able to gain the confidence of staff and supporters, enabling the charity to retain the best of both. As a result the organisation has not just survived but is growing again.

Janet Thorne, chief executive, Reach Volunteering

Janet has led Reach from near death to thriving, providing inspirational leadership, vision and hard graft to take Reach through a digital transformation and build a responsive, respected charity.

Becky Aldridge, chief executive, Dorset Mental Health Forum

Becky is an inspirational and effective leader. Using her own experience of mental health as motivation, and by influencing system change, she improves the lives of everyone experiencing mental ill health. Becky models vulnerability in leadership, empowering others to transform environments needing change.




Share this

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Not an ACEVO member?

If you have any queries please email
or call 020 7014 4600.