ACEVO Fellowships

Celebrating and investing in inspirational leaders 

2018 ACEVO Fellowship winners:

  • Arti Sharma, deputy chief executive, City Year UK
  • Becky Aldridge, chief executive, Dorset Mental Health Forum
  • Janet Thorne, chief executive, Reach Volunteering
  • Jolanta Lasota, chief executive, Ambitious About Autism
  • Kevin Kibble, chief executive, Nurture Group Network

Fellowships are awarded to those whose work has been identified by their peers as outstanding, and whose achievements deserve greater recognition. Their purpose is to support and nurture some of the best talent in the sector and the winners are chosen because of their commitment, drive, vision and hunger to learn more.

Each Fellow receives a fully funded bursary place on the Leadership Trust’s flagship Leadership in Management Programme worth £4,200; a personalised development plan; an ACEVO mentor; a free place at the ACEVO annual conference; a pack of ACEVO publications and a year’s free membership.

“Winning an ACEVO Fellowship has been fantastic. I am really looking forward to the Leadership Trust training - this kind of professional development is just beyond the reach of a small charity like ours. The recognition is lovely too: a welcome boost to my confidence (and adds a nice burnish to funding applications!).” Janet Thorne, CEO, Reach Volunteering

Our judging panel: Jenny Berry, director of leadership and governance, ACEVO, Kate Welch, CEO, Social Enterprise Acumen and ACEVO trustee, John Knight, CEO, Loros and Leadership Trust Foundation trustee, Rokaiya Khan, CEO, Together Women and previous winner of the ACEVO Fellowship Awards.

In partnership with the:

The Leadership Trust Foundation and 



We would like to thank the Leadership Trust for its continued support of the Fellowships and its key contribution to ACEVO’s wider leadership development offer. The Leadership Trust Foundation is an educational charitable trust which has delivered public benefit through research, thought leadership, influencing and training – all contributing to better leadership understanding and improved leadership practices since 1975.

Previous winners

Fellows are listed below, with roles as they were at the time of receiving their award.


Mark Pemberton                                     Director - Association of British Orchestras
Sarah Robbins CEO - Springfield Project
Jan Hutchinson                                                    Director of programmes - Centre for Mental Health 
Dr James Cusack Director of science - Autistica
John Schless CEO - Students Union University of Greenwich


Gail Gibbons

CEO - Sheffield Futures 

Adrian Ramsey


Anita Grover

CEO - Auditory Verbal UK 

Jane Blake


Trish McGrath

CEO - AberSU


Judi Rhys

CEO - Arthritis Care

Emma Williams

Executive director - PTA UK

Othman Moqbel

CEO - Human Appeal International

John Rendel


Sarah Collis

Director - Self Help UK


Seb Elsworth

Director of partnerships and communications (Deputy CEO) – SIB

Maria McNicholl

Head of prison projects – St Giles Trust

Daryl Ormerod

CEO – University of Cumbria Students’ Union

Abdurahman Sharif

Executive director – Muslim Charities Forum

Jeremy Taylor

CEO – National Voices


Daniel Brookbank

CEO - East Sussex Blind

Ed Moss

CEO- Young Advisors

Anil Patil

CEO - Carers Worldwide

Ruth Wells

CEO- Mind Exeter and East Devon

Jane Stafford

Director - Child Dynamix


James Cathcart

CEO - British Youth Council

Kevin Cheung

CEO - Food Cycle

Tracey Bleakley

CEO - Personal Finance Education Group

Rokaiya Khan


CEO- Together Women, Yorkshire and Humberside (Emerging Leader Award)

 Rowina Lewis

 Director of Fundraising and Supporter Relations - Gingerbread